Monday, January 10, 2011

Caldecott winners announced

Today the American Library Association announced this year's winners of the Randoph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children.

Drumroll .....................

Erin Stead, Illustrator
Philip Christian Stead, Author
a Neal Porter Book, published by Roaring Brook Press, a division of Holtzbrinck Publishing

(Erin seems to only have a blog, not a website.)

Bryan Collier, illustrator
Laban Carrick Hill, Author
published by Little, Brown and Company, a division of Hachette Book Group, Inc.

David Ezra Stein, author and illustrator
published by Candlewick Press

There were also several additional awards given for literature. To read the full list, please go here.

1 comment:

Sarah Melling said...

Thanks for posting these. As a picture book fan and substitute teacher, I try to keep up on the new books but wasn't familiar with Erin Stead. I loved reading the blog, especially the description of the process she goes through to achieve her fabulous woodblock illustrations.